You are currently viewing Banura digs deep to earn Commonwealth slot
Maureen Banura Akiiki dashes to the finishing line during the 400m race at the sixth national trials | Photo by Isaac Musinguzi / Sanyuka TV photo

Banura digs deep to earn Commonwealth slot

It was a sixth time ‘Better’ for Banura Mauren Akiiki who dug deep, using her experience and determination to beat teammate Nanziri Emily of Police to make the Commonwealth Games qualification standard of the Women’s 400m.

Banura has taken part in each one of the six UAF trials and she made steady progress that has finally seen her run a personal best time of 54.66, just inside the required 54.74 time for the Common Wealth Games.

Her Police teammate, Nanziri Emily came in second with a seasonal best time of 55.13.

Joshua Cheptegei Development Fund (JOCDEF) young women athletes, Cherop Patience and Chekwemoi Brenda missed the qualification times for the World U-20 in the 1500m by 13 and 33 micro-seconds respectively.

Cherop stopped the clock at 4:29.13, while Chekwemoi came in at 4:29.33 respectively slower than the required 4:29.00.

Similarly in the Women’s 3000m U-20 race, Police athletes, Chebet Scarlet P and Cherop Risper narrowly missed out on the qualification time to Cali Colombia by 10 and 37 micro-seconds respectively.

Scarlet won the race with 9:32.10 whereas Risper came in second with a time of 9:32.37 outside the required 9:32.00

Meanwhile, among the men, Adome Pius, re-confirmed his qualification for the Commonwealth Games in the 200m by posting a time of 21.21 of the required 21.24.

The 3000m U-20 men made up for the near misses by the women, by qualifying the first five of them.

Kiplangat Denis-Kcca (8:04.70), Kiprop Hosea–Jocdef (8:09.19), Kiprop Kenneth-Jocdef (8:09.92), Ndiwa Elphas Toroitich –Uwa (8:10.66) and Cheptoyek Elijah –Arua (8:10.67) all hit the required time of 8:15.00 for World U-20.

Police athlete Chebet Abel won the Men’s 10,000m, posting the fastest 10,000m time in Namboole this year, with a time of 28:38.80.

Unfortunately for him, this time was still 80 micro-seconds short of the required qualification mark for the Common Wealth Games of 28:38.00.

This was the last of the 6 trials lined up by UAF to enable the athletes at home, to qualify for the Common Wealth, World Championships, World Under 20, Africa Senior, and other International Competitions.

UAF now shifts focus to the Regional Athletics Championships spread out across the country on Saturday 21st May 2022.

Generally, the UAF National trials have been very successful with each one of the six producing qualifiers for the various international championships.

The trials have also enabled USSSA, AUUS, Uganda Para Olympic Sports Association, and the Uganda Association for the Deaf Sports to select participants for their competitions.

The winners of the 6th Trials include:

Event Names (Women) Club T/D CWG Wc U 20 Nr Ug
100m Apio Agnes Prisons 12.53 11.94 11.15 11.90 11.54
200m Koli Evalin Ocen Prisons 25.19 24.24 22.80 24.40 23.43
400m Banura Mauren A Police 54.66 Pb 54.74 51.35 55.20 51.47
800m Bala Annoucienta Nalinya 2:19.10 2:06.00 1:59.50 2:09.00 1:58.03
1500m Cherop Patience Jocdef 4:29.13 4:21.00 4:04.20 4:29.00 3:59.56
Chekwemoi Brenda Jocdef 4:29.33 4:21.00 4:04.20 4:29.00 3:59.56
3000m U20 Chebet Scarlet P Police 9:32.10 9:32.00 8:45.29
Cherop Risper Police 9:32.37 9.32.00 8:45.29
5000m Chekwemoi Esther Police 16:34.23 16:18.00 14:10.00 16:40.00 15:00.61
Javelin Lalam Josephine J Police 50.19 49.00m 64.00 50.00m 55.59
Long Jump Mary Zawadi U Police 5.68m 6.15m 6.82m 6.12m 6.43m
Shotput Aber Caroline O Prisons 10.44m 14.90m 18.50 14.50 14.47m


Event Names Club T/D CWG Wc U 20 Nr Ug
100m Adome Pius Police 10.66 10.44 10.05 10.60 10.35
200m Adome Pius Police 21.21 21.24 20.24 24.40 20.37
400m Onen Kennedy Unity  47.94 46.64 44.90 47.60 44.37
800m Abdo Razack Hassan G Djibouti 1:48.96 1:47.30 1:45.20 1:51.00 1:43.72
Osuje Emmanuel Police 1:49.31 1:47.30 1:45.20 1:51.00 1:43.72
1500m Koon Wal Yach Majok S Sudan 3:45.36 3:39.00 3:35.00 3:48.50 3:30.58
Ahmed Daher Ismael Djibouti 3:45.38 3:39.00 3:35.00 3:48.50 3:30.58
3000m U20 Kiplangat Denis KCCA 8:04.20 8:15.00 7:26.64
Kiprop Hosea Jocdef 8:09.19 8:15.00 7:26.64
Kiprop Kenneth Jocdef 8:09.92 8:15.00 7:26.64
Ndiwa E Toroitich UWA 8:10.66 8:15.00 7:26.64
Cheptoyoyek Elijah Arua 8:10.67 8:15.00 7:26.64
10,000m Chebet Abel Police 28:38.80 28:38.00 27:28.00 26:11.00
Javelin Mwaka Johnson Prisons 62.59m 69.00m 85.00m 69.00m 75.52m
Long Jump Okello Charles Prisons 7.31m 7.80m 8.22m 7.55m 7.75m
Shotput Wokorach Jacob Prisons 13.08m 16.80m 21:00 18.20 15.76m


Leave a Reply