You are currently viewing Les Fennecs, twice in style

Les Fennecs, twice in style

Africa’s reigning champions Algeria claimed their second Africa Cup of Nations title last summer in Egypt. Les Fennecs led by Djamel Belmadi defied all odds and had a memorable path to their second continental glory.

They had their maiden trophy at home in 1990, after losing the final to hosts Nigeria ten years earlier.

ALG 1990 2

Algeria 1990

Les Fennecs won their first ever Africa Cup of Nations trophy when they hosted the tournament in 1990. They did that in the best of ways, winning all of their five games en route to glory.

Algeria opened the tournament with a 5-1 win over Nigeria, before defeating Cote d’Ivoire 3-0 and regional rivals Egypt 2-0 respectively.

AFCON 2021: All the confirmed squads for the tournament

In the semifinals they overcame Senegal 2-1, before beating Nigeria once again in the final, this time through Cherif Oudjani lone goal in the opening half.

Coach: Abdelhamid Kermali

Final: Algeria 1-0 Nigeria

Top Scorer: Djamel Menad (4 goals)


Egypt 2019

Les Fennecs won people’s hearts with their outstanding performances in Egypt to claim their second AFCON title, the inaugural 24-team format.

They finished Group C with maximum points, after three victories over Kenya (2-0), Senegal (1-0) and Tanzania (3-0). A 3-0 win over Guinea in the Round of 16 saw them reaching the quarterfinals, where they defeated Cote d’Ivoire 4-3 on penalties after a 1-1 draw in full time.

Catch up on the latest standings from the Uganda Boxing Champions League

Riyad Mahrez scored five minutes into injury time as Algeria cruised 2-1 over Nigeria in the semis. In the final, Algeria needed a second minute goal from Baghdad Bounedjah to defeat Senegal once again 1-0 and claim the trophy in style.

Coach: Djamel Belmadi

Final: Algeria 1-0 Senegal

Top Scorer: Riyad Mahrez, Adam Ounas (3 goals)


The report was initially published on the CAF Website.

Leave a Reply